Bought a Renault with full MOT and brake pads are worn!

Home Forums Technical Discussions Bought a Renault with full MOT and brake pads are worn!

Tagged: 

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Stuart Masson Stuart Masson 11 months, 1 week ago.

• Author

Carrie–Ann

Just bought a Renault Megane 5 door hatchback (2006) from a dodgy dealer by the seems on things. I’m not a mechanic so the best I could do was look into the MOT history before I decided to purchase it. It has only ever failed one MOT and has full service history including a new timing belt done not long ago so seems it has been looked after.

However within 5 days of having it the toxic fumes warning light was coming on then there was a smell of burning when I stopped at traffic lights. Turns out it was only running on 2 cylinders. Took the car to the dodgy dealer. He said it wasn’t his problem after he sold it to me but would pay something to it. It cost £130 to get it fixed so asked me for £65. I thought that would be the end of it so was happy to pay that to have a good running safe car!

However there has been a clicking noise when in first and second gear and particularly turning corners. Took it to my local garage and they said it is the CV, driver shaft and also the front brake pads are worn!!! My question is how did this pass it’s MOT and can I sue for this or do something because surely it is illegal to pass this car with these underlying faults especially the brake pads. I mean that is a serious safety issue.

Thank you in advance for any replies.

• #65259 Reply
    Stuart Masson
    Stuart Masson
    Keymaster