Buying a Honda Civic Type R VTEC

Home Forums Buying a Car Buying a Honda Civic Type R VTEC

This topic contains 1 reply, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Stuart Masson Stuart Masson 4 months, 1 week ago.

• Author

Joanne

Hi Everyone,

I’m completely new to the forum and if I’m honest, pretty clueless about cars. I’ve been driving for 9-10 years. 29-year-old female. Started out with a Citroen Saxo under 1 litre (loved it for a first car) and then had my Vauxhall Corsa SXI for 7 years but it’s on its death bed now so I need a new car.

I’ve always loved the look of the Honda Civic Type R. That’s my main reason for wanting to buy – I’m after a car I love the look of!

Found one at a garage near me; black (and red bits), 2.0-litre, 2009, 50,000 miles, excellent condition, full MOT & service history, reputable garage, 3 previous owners. They will also give me a free 12-month warranty. They’re after £7,995. Got an online valuation of £6,500 when I put the deals on but not sure if these just come up lower? It was on WhatCar.

I’ve checked my insurance – £74 monthly up from £45 monthly with my 1.4 Corsa. Not bad.

Anyway, my questions:

– Does this specific deal look good? If not, how much should I be negotiating?
    – In layman’s terms, any pitfalls of this car?
    – People are saying the petrol could cripple me?
    – Worried about the tyres. Do they wear more than other vehicles (horror stories I’ve read
    online)?