PCP advice – Range Rover Evoque

Home Forums Car finance PCP advice – Range Rover Evoque

This topic contains 9 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Maxwell 1 year, 1 month ago.

• Author

Dale

Hi all,

Looking for some advice on PCP, I have some knowledge as have colleagues who have similar deals, but just need some further clarification

My situation is I take a car allowance instead of company car and I pay benefit in kind tax against my private use fuel (via monthly return)

At present I have bought and own a car which is now a 10 plate and done approx. 120k so looking to change. I work in construction an loosely based around the midlands so my annual mileage can change vastly from 15k to 27k

I’m looking at a Range Rover Evoque as I spent a fair bit of time in the car so want something comfortable and i’m looking at a PCP instead of buying outright as it would tie up quite a lot in capital.

I have considered a 14 plate version with finance but would soon be out of warranty and with those mileages could have issues which I would need t pay for. I’m hence now thinking a PCP may suit me.

I should always have a car allowance so im quite happy to always have a deal going on as would not be much difference than paying the tax man.

I would take a 4 year deal on PCP and put in some deposit (2k ish)

However the question starts at mileage; ive been told that as I would be looking for another deal after this, to take a 4 year deal and wait for them to call me after 3years with an offer and then take that.

I am being advised that doing this will mean any mileage is null and void and to therefore base the PCP on 10K a year although I will be doing more.

I don’t want to buy vehicle after so don’t have to wait until the end of the period.

am I right in what I am being advised? I know it may not be a moral thing to do, but im not concerned about this as finance companies don’t look at things that way either.