Ingram’s Toyota dominates BTCC opener

Ingram’s Toyota dominates BTCC opener

Toyota has taken first blood in the 2016 British Touring Car Championship after Tom Ingram dominated the opening round of the series at Brands Hatch.

The win, from pole position, was both the first for Ingram and his Speedworks Motorsports team, the 22 year-old starting his third year in the series and driving an example of the Toyota Avensis that launched the BTCC’s current NGTC regulations back in 2011.

Starting from pole position, Ingram was never headed in the 27-lap race, eventually finishing over a second clear of the Halfords Yuasa Racing Honda Civic Type-R of reigning champion Gordon Shedden. He in turn was chased home by team-mate Matt Neal, both Civics running their first race with new-spec engines from Honda.

1604_BTCC_Sutton_MGAn impressive performance came from the Triple Eight Racing MG squad, BTCC debutant Ashley Sutton finishing fourth with new team-mate Josh Cook battling his way to fifth.

As the familiar cars triumphed, the newcomers struggled, notably the new Subaru Levorgs of Team BMR. The 2014 BTCC champion Colin Turkington, who had surprised with a strong 11th-grid spot despite his car only running for the first time a day earlier, was caught up in a carnage-filled opening three laps that claimed several cars and brought the safety car onto the circuit. Biggest victim of the accidents was Ford Focus driver Alex Martin, who was sent hard in the barrier after contact with a rival.

Best of the Levorgs was eventually former champion Jason Plato in 21st spot, in what was effectively an extended test session for the four-strong Subaru squad.

Ingram will now start race two from pole position, scheduled for 2.12pm.

Andrew Charman

Andrew is the News and Road Test Editor for The Car Expert. He is a member of the Guild of Motoring Writers, and has been testing and writing about new cars for more than 20 years. Today he is well known to senior personnel at the major car manufacturers and attends many new model launches each year.

What are your thoughts? Let us know below.

Lost Password