Jaguar F-Pace wins 2017 World Car of the Year

Car Manufacturer News
Jaguar F-Pace - World Car of the Year 2017

The new Jaguar F-Pace has been selected as the 2017 World Car of the Year, which was announced at the New York motor show today.

The F-Pace also won the 2017 World Car Design of the Year in addition to the overall award. The runners up were the Audi Q5 and Volkswagen Tiguan. Last year’s winner was the Mazda MX-5 roadster.

An initial field of 23 cars was narrowed to a short list of ten, with the three finalists announced at the Geneva motor show last month.

Several category winners were also announced, as follows:

2017 World Car of the Year: Jaguar F-Pace
2017 World Luxury Car: Mercedes-Benz E-Class
2017 World Performance Car: Porsche 718 Boxster and 718 Cayman
2017 World Green Car: Toyota Prius Plug-In Hybrid (Prius Prime in some markets)
2017 World Urban Car: BMW i3 (94Ah battery version)
2017 World Car Design of the Year: Jaguar F-Pace

This is the 13th year of the World Car of the Year awards. Under the rules of the WCOTY Association, a car must be available for sale on at least two continents by 31 May 2017 to be eligible for this year’s awards.

Stuart Masson

Stuart is the Editor of The Car Expert, which he founded in 2011, and our new sister site The Van Expert. Originally from Australia, Stuart has had a passion for cars and the car industry for over thirty years. He spent a decade in automotive retail, and now works tirelessly to help car buyers by providing independent and impartial advice.

What are your thoughts? Let us know below.

Lost Password