• Home
  • Advice
  • Brands
  • Partners
  • News
  • Reviews
  • Forum
  • New car ratings

More equipment in updated Lexus RX range

'Refocused' range cuts grades but adds standard features to flagship model.

Would you like to stay up to date with the latest from The Car Expert?

Lexus has unveiled a swathe of changes to its RX SUV line-up, including new, fewer grade options and more equipment as standard.

The RX, regarded as the flagship SUV in the Lexus range, will now be available in a choice of only three grades, following the structure introduced with other models and dubbed RX, F Sport and Takumi. A series of option packs will allow buyers to add extra styling, comfort, safety and technology as they wish.

Extended equipment levels include the fitting of the Lexus Safety System+ suite of active safety systems as standard to every RX. Collision warning and autonomous braking, adaptive cruise control, lane-keeping and sway warning aids, traffic sign recognition and auto high-beam lights all feature in the system.

Entry-level RX models now come with 18-inch alloy wheels, smooth leather upholstery, heated and ventilated front seats, a navigation system accessed through an eight-inch display screen, DAB radio, front and rear parking sensors and keyless entry.

Three option packs are available for the RX. The Sport Pack adds 20-inch alloy wheels, spindle grille and door mirror casings all in black. The Premium Pack also includes 20-inch alloys, along with a 12-inch navigation system, triple-eye LED headlamps, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, heated steering wheel, power tailgate and wireless smartphone charger.

Lexus RX L interior and dashboard | The Car Expert


Premium Pack buyers can also add a Tech and Safety Pack. This includes a colour head-up display, blind-spot monitor, rear cross-traffic alert with automatic braking, auto-folding/auto-dimming door mirrors, a power tailgate with a no-touch sensor and a panoramic roof.

F Sport equipment now includes a heated steering wheel and power tailgate with hands-free sensor operation, alongside existing features such as the bespoke grille, aluminium pedal set, bespoke seats and steering wheel and adaptive variable suspension.

The range-topping RX Takumi gains a new power-folding function for the rear seats, which also have integrated heaters. A 15-speaker Mark Levinson Surround Sound audio system and 360-degree panoramic view monitor also feature.

Also standard on the Takumi are the Tech & Safety Pack, plus semi-aniline leather upholstery, 10-way power front seat adjustment, and memory settings for the front seats, steering wheel and door mirrors.

RX F Sport owners can also specify a Takumi Pack option – this includes the Tech and Safety Pack content, plus power-folding rear sets, heated rear seats, the Mark Levinson audio system, 360-degree panoramic view camera, card key and a panoramic roof.

The seven-seat RX L also adopts the new grade names, with the SE, Luxury and Premier replaced by RX L and Takumi.

Lexus RX L exterior - rear
Lexus RX L

For the best independent and impartial car buying advice on the internet, always check with The Car Expert:

  • Subscribe to our newsletter for weekly tips and the latest offers from car manufacturers
  • Follow us on Facebook and Twitter to see our latest articles as soon as we publish them
  • Bookmark our site so you can check back regularly
Andrew Charman
Andrew Charman
Andrew is the News and Road Test Editor for The Car Expert. He is a member of the Guild of Motoring Writers, and has been testing and writing about new cars for more than 20 years. Today he is well known to senior personnel at the major car manufacturers and attends many new model launches each year.

The Car Expert Gold Partners

(click each logo to read more)

More equipment in updated Lexus RX range 1
More equipment in updated Lexus RX range 2
More equipment in updated Lexus RX range 3
More equipment in updated Lexus RX range 4

Latest articles

Jeep Compass

The Jeep Compass has received average reviews from the UK media. Our new Expert Rating system ranks the Compass last of 17 cars in the mid-sized SUV segment.

How to understand a PCP car finance quote

Thousands of people look at a PCP car finance quote and are hopelessly confused by all the different numbers. Cut through the confusion with this guide.

MG ZS EV test drive

Is the MG ZS EV really 'the first truly affordable, family-friendly electric car' as its manufacturer claims? We hit the city streets to find out.

Bentley Flying Spur launches with limited edition model

Bentley has revealed a First Edition version of its new Flying Spur luxury saloon that will only be available for the first 12 months of the car’s production run.

Volvo issues vehicle recall over fire risk

Nearly 70,000 Volvo cars in the UK are being recalled over a fire risk related to an engine problem, the manufacturer said.

What are your thoughts? Let us know below.

Be the first to know

Would you like to stay up to date with The Car Expert?

More new and updated cars

Chevrolet Corvette changes to middle lane

The all-new Chevrolet Corvette has been revealed after years of rumours and teasers – and the new model is very different to what has gone before.

Skoda updates Kodiaq and Karoq with new tech

Skoda has revealed updates to its Karoq and Kodiaq SUVs for the 2020 model year.

The petrol Mazda 3 with ‘diesel-like’ fuel economy

Mazda 3 models with the brand's new Skyactiv-X petrol engine will arrive in showrooms in October, at prices starting from £23,555.

New Lotus Evija is £1.7m electric hypercar

Lotus has unveiled a long-awaited all-new model in the form of an electric hypercar, the Lotus Evija.