Independent, impartial advice for car buyers and car owners

Find an Expert Rating: 

Upgraded Toyota Yaris adds safety tech

New engine and updated styling among the new features

Our Expert Partners

Motorway 600x300

Sell your car with Motorway
Find out more

Motors 600x300

Find your next car with Motors
Find out more

Leasing dot com 600x300

Car leasing offers from Leasing.com
Find out more

ALA Insurance logo 2022 600x300

Warranty and GAP from ALA Insurance
Find out more

MotorEasy logo 300x150

Warranty, servicing and tyres from MotorEasy
Find out more

Mycardirect subscriptions – 600x300

Carsubscriptions from Mycardirect
Find out more


An upgraded Toyota Yaris range has gone on sale in the UK, including a new 1.5-litre petrol engine and improved safety features as standard equipment.

The new Yaris is the first vehicle in the Toyota range to use the company’s new 1.5-litre petrol engine. The Toyota Safety Sense package, which includes a pre-collision system, lane departure alert and adaptive cruise control, will feature as standard on all Yaris models.

The new Toyota Yaris made its debut at this month’s Geneva Motor Show, and the vehicle is now available on the UK market with six trim levels to choose from. The slower-selling three-door body style has been discontinued, so all new models will be five-door hatchbacks.

The new 110hp 1.5-litre engine replaces the former 1.33-litre unit. Toyota claims it is 10 per cent more powerful, and will achieve better fuel economy and lower CO2 emissions. It is available with both manual and automatic transmissions.

Additionally, the Yaris Hybrid model has received some extra attention to improve its refinement. A re-engineered subframe for the hybrid components is paired with new engine mounts, front driveshafts and roll restrictor to reduce noise and vibrations under acceleration.

The Yaris’s £78million overhaul also results in changes to the exterior and interior styling of the vehicle, as well as improved equipment specifications across the board.

The Yaris Hybrid has been redesigned to improve refinement

Entry-level Active trim models include equipment such as rain-sensing windscreen wipers, Bluetooth and a six-speaker audio system. Icon is the next trim level up and offers 15-inch alloy wheels, cruise control, the Toyota Touch 2 multimedia system and a rear-view camera. Icon Tech trim adds front parking sensors and Toyota Touch 2 with Go, which includes satnav and access to online services.

Design and Bi-tone models focus mainly on new cosmetic features, such as 16-inch alloy wheels, LED rear lights, rear privacy glass and a rear spoiler. The Bi-tone option offers a choice of contrasting exterior colour options and matching trims for the dashboard and door panels, and also includes power windows and LED daytime running lights.

Finally, the top-of-the-range Excel grade offers automatic headlights and part-leather and Alcantara seat upholstery.

The new Yaris is yet to be tested by Euro NCAP, but its predecessor achieved a five-star rating and the standard fitment of the Toyota Safety Sense package will certainly help the new model.

The new Toyota Yaris range is now available to order from all Toyota dealers.

Toyota Yaris Bi-tone range

The latest from The Car Expert