Independent, impartial advice for car buyers and car owners

Find an Expert Rating: 

Seven stars in latest round of crash tests

Latest models from SsangYong, Skoda, Mercedes, BMW, Audi and Ford have all scored top marks in safety test standard

Our Expert Partners

Motorway 600x300

Sell your car with Motorway
Find out more

Motors 600x300

Find your next car with Motors
Find out more

Cazoo 600x300

Find your next car with Cazoo
Find out more

ALA Insurance logo 2022 600x300

Warranty and GAP from ALA Insurance
Find out more

MotorEasy logo 300x150

Warranty, servicing and tyres from MotorEasy
Find out more

Mycardirect subscriptions – 600x300

Carsubscriptions from Mycardirect
Find out more


Independent car safety regulator Euro NCAP has revealed that seven new cars have taken a top five-star rating in its latest round of testing.

All of the cars tested in this month’s results achieved the highest rating, including the first five-star result for budget brand SsangYong.

Two crossovers are included here – namely the SsangYong Korando and Skoda Kamiq, both of which are due to arrive on the UK market imminently. The former has been commended for high levels of safety assistance equipment as standard, while the latter matches its VW Group platform mates in the Volkswagen T-Cross and SEAT Ateca in boasting a five-star rating.

The Mercedes-Benz EQC, Mercedes’ first all-electric car, is also part of this wave of cars taking top honours, equalling rivals in the Jaguar I-Pace and Audi e-tron. Its compact CLA saloon, based on the current A-Class hatchback, also received a five-star rating.

BMW’s new Z4 sports car took the highest score too, praised for an active bonnet system that lifts when a collision with a pedestrian is detected in order to minimise injury. Audi’s new A1 Sportback supermini also received a five-star award.

Finally, Ford resubmitted a lightly revised version of the Focus for testing. Despite being awarded a five-star rating in 2018, Euro NCAP found its automatic emergency braking system failed to provide adequate front seat whiplash protection. A revision to the system has rectified this, with the Focus’ five-star rating maintained.

Euro NCAP tests a number of areas on a new car to determine its level of safety — including adult and child occupant protection, pedestrian safety and the level of assistance equipment available. The independent body was founded in 1997 in a bid to provide clarity to consumers on the safety of new vehicles.

Michiel van Ratingen, Euro NCAP secretary general, said: “It’s great to see this continued commitment to improved safety. From these results, achieving five stars may look so easy, but to meet test and fitment requirements for technology are very demanding and always updated to incorporate the latest technology development and address priorities in road safety.”

The latest from The Car Expert

Stuart Masson
Stuart Massonhttps://www.thecarexpert.co.uk/
Stuart is the Editorial Director of our suite of sites: The Car Expert, The Van Expert and The Truck Expert. Originally from Australia, Stuart has had a passion for cars and the automotive industry for over thirty years. He spent a decade in automotive retail, and now works tirelessly to help car buyers by providing independent and impartial advice.